Posted: July 20, 2017

     Besting five other topnotch football teams , The Chiefs came home from Barotac Nuevo,Iloilo, popularly known as the football capital of the Philippines, with the Champion trophy and four other awards. These are the Federacion Internationale Football Association (FIFA) Fair Play Award won by The Chiefs, Most Valuable Player Award , Patrick Bernarte; Best Goalkeeper Award , Jericho Desalisa and Best Defender Award , Jerome Banasihan. The competition, the Mayor Hernan Sr. Biron Inter-Collegiate Football Tournament, was held on June 7-13, 2017 at the Barotac Nuevo Football Field, Barotac Nuevo, Iloilo.

     The participants, all known nationally as outstanding collegiate football teams in the country , were Arellano University from the National Collegiate Athletic Association ( NCAA), University of Sto. Tomas from the University Athletic Association of the Philippines (UAAP), Iloilo State College of Fisheries from the State Colleges and University Athletic Association (SCUAA), Western Institute of Technology from the Private Schools Athletic Association (PRISAA ), University of Negros Occidental (UNO-R), and the Barotac Nuevo Selection Team ( BN), players of whom come from the host-town’s Palarong Pambansa stand-outs.

     In the finals, the game between Arellano University and the Iloilo State College of Fisheries was so tightly contested and the players did excellent performance that both teams failed to score even after the 30-minute extension period. The game went into a penalty 5-kicker shoot- out and it was here where the Chiefs showed their skills, with Symon Sanquilos , Ace Roldan and Charles Gamutan converting their first three kicks, while the first three kicks of ISCOF were all impressively saved by AU Goalkeeper Desalisa earning him the Best Goalkeeper title and giving Arellano University the Champion trophy.

     The final ranking of the winners were Arellano University, Champion; Iloilo State College of Fisheries, 2nd Place and Barotac Nuevo Selection Team, 3rd Place.

     The group was headed by Mr. Ravelo Saluria, Head Coach and Mr. Judy Saluria ( Asst. Coach).

     From Iloilo, with Champion trophy. Top photo shows Most Valuable Player Patrick Bernarte with Mayor Braeden John Biron of Barotac Nuevo ( in white shirt ) , and three other local officials. Next photo shows Best Goalkeeper awardee , Jericho Desalisa. Bottom photo shows the whole team with Coach Ravelo Saluria ( in striped shirt} and two places to his right , Asst. Coach Judy Saluria .